Hacktoberfest PRs...

Hacktoberfest PRs...

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

I was very much aware of the terms like open source contribution, git, github, pull request, merged etc but I never used them, I was just thinking about what contribution I should give forward to be merged. I thought that big projects, new technology should take part in open source, but I realized after contributing to more than 10 repositories in hacktoberfest that my thought was totally wrong.

I started my first contribution one day before the starting of hacktoberfest 2022, actually that was a practicing contribution. I explored lots of videos in youtube about how to work with version control github and after watching through 2 to 3 videos I liked the most Kunal Kushwaha tutorial and I got to know about how to create pull requests and some important and useful commands of git. I found one repository on github which is participating in hacktoberfest and I contribute to the readme file of that repository. Within 1 Hour my pull request got merged into main and I was very happy and I thought that contributing to open source procedure is not so hard and it's amazing.

So, from 1st of oct to 7th of oct I made more than 10 pull requests and many of them got merged but after that many got excluded from hacktoberfest. Following the first week I did 8 pull requests in the second week and all of them got merged to main. I contributed to more than 10 repositories in this month and I am very proud of myself that I did it within 2 weeks. At first many repositories were getting excluded from hacktoberfest and I was losing concentration and focus to this, after that I searched for projects, repositories, in linked and in various communities, youtube and I got a huge list of repositories of my level and I contributed. Till now each day and every day I am contributing to at least one repository. That's good practice.

This is my first hacktoberfest participation and I nailed it within 2 weeks. I will suggest to every reader of this blog that never stop yourself in any field which you want to do. That can be a huge one but never stop yourself. Keep contributing and learn through it and learn by doing.

Thank you for reading...